Razorback pair ready for Palmer Cup | The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

FAYETTEVILLE – University of Arkansas golf All-Americans Jacob Skov Olesen and Maria Jose Marin will represent Team International in the 28th Arnold Palmer Cup, which begins Friday at Lahinch Golf Club in Lahinch, Ireland.

Both players had standout seasons for the Razorbacks in 2024, with Olesen earning second-team All-America status and Marin being named SEC Freshman of the Year and moving up to the first-team All-American.

The Arnold Palmer Cup, launched in 1997, begins with mixed fourball matches in Lahinch, which was founded in 1892. Lahinch was originally scheduled to host the 2020 Palmer Cup, but was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic. The United States holds a 14-12-1 lead over its international rivals in the competition series.

Garrett Runion of LSU and Matt Thurmond of Arizona State will serve as coaches for Team USA, while Australia's Rhyll Brinsmead and Ireland's Barry Fennelly will coach Team International.

Olesen, from Roskilde, Denmark, climbed to 27th in the world amateur golf rankings after winning the Amateur Open at Ballyiffin Golf Club in Ireland on June 22. The following week he finished fifth in the European Amateur Championship.

As a Razorbacks graduate, Olesen broke the school record for stroke average (69.94) and number of rounds in the 60s (16) and set the record for rounds at par or better (24).

Marin, from Cali, Colombia, finished sixth in the final NCAA/Clippd standings and is currently ranked No. 15 in the world amateur women's golf rankings. As a freshman, Marin won the Blessings Collegiate Invitational in Fayetteville, earned two second-place finishes and tied for fourth at the NCAA Championships.

She led the Razorbacks with a 70.83 scoring average, 23 rounds of par or better and eight rounds in the 60s.

The Razorbacks were well represented at the Palmer Cup. This year marked the third time in the last six years that Arkansas had at least two players on the roster.

In 2018, UA players Alvaro Ortiz and Maria Fassi, both from Mexico, played for Team International, while Alana Uriell and Dylan Kim played for Team USA. In 2021, Brooke Matthews of Rogers played for Team USA, while Julian Perico of Peru played for Team International.