The best era for any current AAC football school

Let's look back at the most successful eras of each AAC football program.

The Black Knights of Army West Point have been playing organized college football since 1891. The 2024 season will be the program's 131st season. However, despite its long history of success, Army doesn't have many alternatives to choose from when it comes to its biggest winning streak.

It also includes the period from 1913 to 1916 under coach Charles Daly, during which Army won its first national championship in 1914. In the days of Jim Young from 1983 to 1990, the military academy reached three bowl games. In the current days of Jeff Monken, which began in 2014, Army celebrated an 11-win season and five bowl games in 2018.

Regardless, those options still aren't as great and legendary as Red Blaik's 18-year run from 1941 to 1958. When Blaik joined in his first year, Army was coming off the worst season in program history up to that point, when the Cadets went 1-7-1. Coming out of Dartmouth, Blaik quickly helped Army regain some respectability by improving by four wins in his first year and reaching a record of 5-3-1.

Over the next two seasons, Army increased its win total slightly to 6 and 7, respectively. Then came the 1944 season. With the arrival of legendary backfield mates and future college football legends Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis, the Cadets enjoyed their first undefeated, undefeated season since 1916, finishing 9-0 and winning the academy's second national championship.

The next season, Army again achieved a perfect record of 9-0, becoming the tenth program to repeat and defend the national championship title. Doc Blanchard also became the first Army player to win the Heisman Trophy. In 1946, Army achieved a record of 9-0-1 and Glenn Davis won the Heisman Trophy. Although Army failed to win a third title during that season, the program was very successful.

Under Blaik's leadership, the academy achieved a record of 121-33-10 during that season. In addition to the two national championships, Army also boasted another Heisman Trophy winner in 1958: Pete Dawkins. Eleven different West Point players became All-Americans. Blaik won the 1946 AFCA Coach of the Year Award. Thirteen top 25 and eight top 10 finishes also occurred during that season, and there was only one losing season. After Red Blaik's retirement in 1958, Army only achieved two more AP Post rankings.